• Designing Param Vir Chakra
The Param Vir was designed by Eva Savitribai Khanolkar. She has chosen the Vajra, a symbol depicting Sacrifice. The Gods fashioned the Thunder bolt from Sage Dadhichi's thigh bone.
  • First Victoria Cross
The First Indian to be awarded with the Victoria Cross was Sub. Khuda Dad Khan of 129th Baluchis for the Gallantary at Hollebeke, Belgium on Oct. 31, 1914
  • Only living Victoria Cross Winner
    Sub. Major (retd.)Umrao Singh from Palra, Haryana was awarded the Victoria Cross for his bravery in Kaladan Valley during Burma Operations on Dec. 15 & 16 1944.
  • Youngest Victoria Cross Winner Andrew Fitzgibbons Hospital Apprentice of the Indian Medical services of Petragarh was awarded the Victoria Cross at the age of 15 for his Meritorious Service at the Taku Forts North China

  • Two Victoria Cross in 24 hours
Capt. Gaje Ghale & Capt. Agan Singh Rai from 2/5 Gorkha Rifles Paltan has won 3 VC's in World War II but the above soldiers won it in a span of 24 hours.
  • Most Indian Order of Merit
Sub. Kishen Bir Nagarkoti of 5 Gorkha Rifles has been awarded the Indian Order of Merit the Highest British Gallantary award for Indians for 4 times, twice in 1879, in 1880, and the bar in gold in 1888.
  • First Asian George Cross
Havaldar Nandlal Thapa recieved the George Cross in 1935 for his exceptional courage & duty.
  • First Param Vir Chakra
Maj. Somnath Sharma was awarded the Param vir Chakra Posthoumously for he led down his life saving Srinagar City and Airport from Pakistani Attack during Kashmir Operations. He recieved the award on 3 rd Nov. 1947.
  • Youngest Mahavir Chakra Col. Chewang Rinchen recieved the Mahavir Chakra in MArch 1948 when he was 17. He was awarded one more Mahavir Chakra in 1971 for his meritorious services.
  • Gallantary Awards for Civilians
The only civillian to recieve the Mahavir Chakra was Ismail Porter, a labourer who rescued army personnel disregarding his own life during 1948 Kashmir Operations.
  • First Ashok Chakra

    Nk. Nar Bahadur Thapa of 5 Gorkha Rifles was awarded the Ashok Chakra Class I on Sept. 15, 1948 for his Gallantary during the Hyderabad Police action.
  • Param Vir Chakra for Kargil Operations
The Param Vir Chakra for Kargil went to Lt. Col. Manioj Kumar Pandey of the 1/11 Gorkha Rifles, Capt. Vikram Batra & Rifleman SanjayKumar, & Yogender Singh Yadav of 18 Grenadiers.
  • Actor Soldier
Lt. Vishal Bakshi bnecame the first actor to join the Forces when he picked up his rank as a Territorial Army Officer in 1999.Bakshi was aCo-Star with Ayesha in Esmayeel Shroff's Movie Dil Chaurya Aapne.
  • First Indian Commisioned
Engineer Sub. Lt. D.N. Mukherji was the first to be commisioned in the Royal Indian Marine on Jan 6, 1928.
  • First Naval Pilot
Lt. Y. N. Singh the first Indian Naval Pilot was deputed in U.K. in 1941 for Basic Trainning and later to Canada. He became the first Indian Navaal Pilot.
  • First Naval Chief
Vice Admiral R.D.Katari was the first Chief of Naval staff(cns) from 1958 to 1962.
  • First four Star Admiral
Admiral A.K. Chatterji became a four star Admiral on March 1 1968.
  • First President's Tatrakshak Medal
  • First PTM recipient
Comdt. P. Paleri was awarded the first Tatrakshak Medal
  • First Yuddha Seva Medal
Dy. Commdt. S.P.S. Basra and B.A.S. Bhar were awarded the Yuddha Seva Medal on Jan 26 1989 for preventing LTTE infiltration in Palk bay during IPKF operations.
  • First VSM Couple
    Wg. Cdr. (Dr.)Sati Nath and his wife Gp. Capt. Padma Bandhopadhyay were honoured at the same investiture ceremony by Air Chief Marshall O.P. Mishra for their service to the Nation in the 1971 Bangladesh Operations. They are the first Couple to win this Medal.
  • Honarary US citizenship
Mother Teresa was the first Indian to be awarded the honarary US citizen ship
  • Only Pakistani Award
Late Morarji Desai PM from 1977-79 was the only Indian to be awarded Nishan-E- Pakistani award on May 17,1991
  • Only Actor to recieve best Actress award
Nirmal Chandra Pandey was the only actor to recieve the Best actress award for Amol Palekars film Dayaraa
  • First International Film Award
Seeta Directed by Devaki Bose won a gold Medal at the third International exhibition of Cinematographic Art at Venice in 1935
  • Director with most Awards
Satyajit Ray is the only Director whose films have 30 different international awards, prizes and diplomas from various countries.He is the only filmmaker to be honoured with the Bharat Ratna, Magsaysay Award and the Oscar for Lifetime Achievement.
  • Pakistani Award for Indian film Star
Dilip Kumar is awarded with the Nishan-E-Intiaz award for thier highest civilian award for his film career.
  • First Oscar Nomination
Mehboob's Mother India was nominated in the best foreign film category for the Hollywood Oscar Academy awards.
  • Oscar Awards
Bhanu Athayia shared the Oscar for Dress designing with John Molle in Richard Attenborough's Gandhi, Satyajit Ray recieved an Oscar for Lifetime Achievement in 1992.
  • First Booker Prize Winner
Arundhati Roy won the first Booker Prize in 1997 for her first Novel God of small things. The other two Booker prize winners Salman Rushdie & V.S.Naipul are Non resident Indians.
  • First Nobel Prize winner
Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to win the Nobel prize for Literature. He won this for his Gitanjali.
  • Highest Prize money
The Onasis award of $250,000 for Manjula Padmanabhan's Harvest is the highest prize money awarded to any work of fiction.
  • First Sahitya Academy award
Amrita Pritam's collection of poems in Punjabi titled as Sunehre has won the first Sahitya Academy award.
  • First Magsaysay award
The first Indian to get the Magsaysay award was Acharya Vinoba Bhave for his community leadership.

This site is designed and maintained by Taurus Infotek