Nobel prize is considered to be the most Prestigious prize in the world. It is awarded annualy to people or institutions for Outstanding contributions in a variety of fields for the upliftment of the society. The prize is named after Alfred Nobel, who in his will directed that the interest of the funds be set aside and used to give one annual prize in each of the five fields of PHYSICS, CHEMISTRY, PHYSIOLOGY OR MEDICINE AND LITERATURE and the most effective work in the interest of International PEACE.The prizes were first presented in 1901. The sixth prize-The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences- was instituted by National Bank of Sweden and was first awarded in 1969. Here is a collection of all the Indians who have won Nobel prizes.

Name Field
Rabindranath Tagore Literature
Dr. C. V. Raman Physics
Dr. Harogobind Khorana Medicine
Mother Teresa International Peace
Subhramanya Chandrasekhar Physics
Professor Amartya Sen Economic Sciences

This site is designed and maintained by Taurus Infotek